Peptide purity testing is a panel, not a single test. RP-HPLC reports purity as a percentage of detected peak area, mass spectrometry confirms identity, and amino acid analysis gives net peptide content. At independent laboratories, published prices run from about $195 for identity plus purity to $600 or more for a full quality-control panel.
- Purity and identity are separate measurements on separate instruments: RP-HPLC reports peptide purity as a share of the detected material, while mass spectrometry is the only part of the panel that establishes the molecule is the one named.
- Amino acid analysis produces net peptide content, meaning how much of the vial's mass is peptide rather than water and counter-ion, so a certificate quoting a purity percentage alone has left a number out. The BPC-157 lot 2FRBRG certificate reports both: 99.51% by HPLC and 10.68mg of peptide in a 10mg vial.
- Published prices for peptide purity testing at independent laboratories start at about $195 for identity plus purity and run to $600 or $750 for a full quality-control panel, which puts a missing certificate in the category of a decision rather than a cost problem.
- A peptide purity testing result is reproducible only if the method behind it is stated. Two laboratories running different columns, gradients and detection wavelengths can differ by one to three per cent on identical material, so the method line matters as much as the number.
- A result is checkable only when the report names the laboratory, the method, the date and a lot number, which is why every compound in this catalogue carries an independent laboratory's report published against the lot printed on the vial, with the laboratory's own accession number on 48 of the 51 for lookup at source.
The methods peptide purity testing usually involves
Each test below answers a different question, and none substitutes for another. A certificate of analysis is essentially a list of which peptide purity testing methods were run, so the first thing to read on a report is not the headline percentage but the list of methods above it.
Four of them make up almost every research-grade panel: chromatography for purity, mass spectrometry for identity, amino acid analysis for how much peptide is actually in the vial, and Karl Fischer analysis for how much water is left in the cake. Everything else in the table is a second tier, run on a first production lot or when a particular application calls for it.
| Method | What question it answers | Technique | How the result is expressed | Run on every lot? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RP-HPLC | What share of the detected material is the target | C18 reverse-phase column, UV detector | Area percent, e.g. 99.51% | Yes |
| LC-MS (ESI) | Whether the main component is the named molecule | Chromatography into an electrospray mass spectrometer | Observed mass against theoretical | Yes |
| MALDI-TOF | Molecular mass of a solid or a large species | Matrix-assisted laser desorption, time-of-flight | Observed mass, nominal accuracy | Where ESI is unsuitable |
| Amino acid analysis | How much of the vial's mass is peptide | Acid hydrolysis, then chromatographic quantification | Net peptide content, as mass or percent | First lot, then periodically |
| Karl Fischer water content | How much water is left in the cake | Coulometric or volumetric Karl Fischer method | Percent water by mass | First lot, then periodically |
| Bacterial endotoxins, USP <85> | How much bacterial endotoxin is present | LAL assay, run in replicate | Endotoxin units per mL or per mg | Where the application specifies it |
| Bioburden, USP <61> | How many viable organisms the sample carries | Plate count after incubation | Colony-forming units | On request |
| Sterility, USP <71> | Whether viable organisms grow from the sample | 14-day incubation in two media | Growth or no growth | On request |
| Elemental impurities | Which metals are present, and at what level | ICP-MS | Parts per million or billion, per element | First lot or on request |
| Residual solvents | What synthesis and purification solvent is left | Headspace gas chromatography | Parts per million, per solvent | First lot or on request |
| Counter-ion content | How much trifluoroacetate or acetate the salt carries | Ion chromatography or 19F NMR | Percent by mass | Characterisation |
| NMR | Whether the structure matches, independent of chromatography | 1H or 13C nuclear magnetic resonance | Spectrum compared against a reference | Rarely, for structural disputes |
RP-HPLC: how pure
Reverse-phase chromatography separates the sample and reports the target as a peptide purity figure, a percentage of total detected peak area. This is the number quoted on listings. It is cheap, fast and run on every lot.
LC-MS or MALDI-TOF: what it is
Mass spectrometry measures molecular mass and compares it against the theoretical mass for the sequence. This is the identity test, and a certificate without it has not established what the material is. A clean sample of the wrong molecule passes the chromatography and fails here.
Amino acid analysis: how much peptide
The sample is hydrolysed to free amino acids and quantified, giving net peptide content: the fraction of the vial's mass that is actually peptide rather than water and counter-ion. Slower and more expensive, so it is often run on a first lot rather than every lot.
Karl Fischer analysis: how much water
A direct measurement of residual moisture in the lyophilized powder. Water matters because it drives hydrolysis in storage, and because it is part of the mass a purity percentage does not account for.
The HPLC method line behind a peptide purity testing result
A purity percentage on its own is not a measurement. It is the output of a peptide purity testing method, and the method is normally printed on the certificate in one dense line that most readers skip. It is worth two minutes.
A standard analytical peptide method uses a C18 reverse-phase column with 0.05 to 0.1 per cent trifluoroacetic acid in both mobile phases as an ion-pairing agent, a gradient running from roughly 5 to 65 per cent acetonitrile over about twenty minutes, at a flow rate near 1 mL/min. Detection is by ultraviolet absorbance, usually at 210 to 220 nm, where the amide bonds of the backbone absorb, so every peptide is visible whatever its sequence. Some methods detect at 280 nm instead, which sees only tryptophan and tyrosine and is therefore blind to a peptide containing neither.
Each of those parameters moves the number. A shallower gradient resolves impurities that a steep one buries under the main peak; a different column chemistry changes which species co-elute; 280 nm detection can miss an impurity entirely. Where the operator sets the integration baseline and how small peaks are counted moves it again, usually by a tenth or two.
The practical consequence is that two competent laboratories can report figures one to three per cent apart on identical material and both be right. That is not a scandal, and it is not a reason to distrust chromatography. It is the reason a purity figure quoted without its method is a claim rather than a result, and why comparing two listings on their headline percentages alone is close to meaningless.
- 0 nm
- Upper end of the UV window used to detect the peptide backbone
- Standard reversed-phase peptide method; 280 nm detects aromatic residues only
- 0 mL/min
- Typical flow rate through an analytical C18 column
- Standard analytical peptide chromatography
- 0 to 3%
- Spread reported between laboratories running identical material on different methods
- Figure published in a third-party testing guide, September 2026; the mechanism is ordinary chromatography
What mass spectrometry adds, and the signatures it sees
Chromatography tells you how much. Mass spectrometry tells you what. The instrument ionises the sample and measures mass-to-charge ratio, and the result is compared against the mass calculated from the sequence and formula.
On a nominal-mass instrument, an observed mass within about 1 Da of theoretical, or within 0.1 per cent for a long chain, is treated as a match. On a high-resolution instrument such as an Orbitrap or a Q-TOF the tolerance falls below 5 parts per million, and MS/MS fragmentation can walk the sequence residue by residue rather than only weighing the whole molecule. That distinction matters for a long peptide, where several different sequences can share the same nominal mass.
The more useful thing mass spectrometry does is see impurities the UV detector cannot. Oxidation adds sixteen daltons at methionine, tryptophan or cysteine, and the oxidised species often elutes so close to the parent that the chromatogram counts it inside the main peak. A certificate reporting 99.5 per cent by HPLC with no mass-spectrometry data has not ruled that out.
| Mass shift from theoretical | Likely cause | Visible on the UV chromatogram? | What it means for the lot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Within 1 Da, or under 5 ppm on a high-resolution instrument | The main component is the named molecule | Not applicable | Identity confirmed |
| +16 Da | Oxidation at methionine, tryptophan or cysteine | Often not, because it can co-elute with the parent | Counted inside the purity figure; ask whether MS saw it |
| +18 or −18 Da | Hydration, or loss of water from incomplete cyclisation | Sometimes as a shoulder | A handling or synthesis artefact |
| +1 Da | Deamidation at asparagine or glutamine | Rarely resolved | Ageing, or exposure to moisture |
| Minus the mass of one residue | A deletion sequence, from a coupling step that failed | Usually a separate peak | Synthesis quality; should appear in the impurity profile |
| +22 or +38 Da | Sodium or potassium adduct formed in the ion source | No | An instrument artefact, not a property of the material |
| Roughly twice the parent mass | Dimer or aggregate | Often an early- or late-eluting peak | A solubility and storage question as much as a synthesis one |
The impurities a purity percentage is counting
Solid-phase synthesis builds a chain one residue at a time, and every step has a yield below one hundred per cent. What survives purification is a population, not a single molecule, and the impurity profile on a certificate is the shape of that population.
Deletion sequences are chains missing one residue, from a coupling step that did not go to completion. Truncated peptides are chains that stopped early. Both are structurally close to the target and can be hard to resolve chromatographically, which is why an impurity profile that names related substances is worth more than one that reports a single number.
Residual protecting groups are fragments of the synthesis chemistry, tert-butyl, trityl, Pbf and their relatives, left on a side chain when the final cleavage was incomplete. Dimers and higher aggregates form where a free cysteine oxidises to a disulfide or where a hydrophobic sequence associates with itself; these show as peaks at multiples of the parent mass.
Then there is the material that is not peptide at all. Trifluoroacetate from the purification mobile phase stays with the product as a counter-ion and is invisible to a UV trace. Residual acetonitrile and other solvents remain at trace levels. Water absorbed into the lyophilised cake is mass in the vial that is not peptide. None of that appears in an area-percent purity figure, which is exactly why net peptide content is measured separately.
Degradation is the fourth category, and the only one that happens after the certificate was signed. Hydrolysis, oxidation and deamidation all proceed faster in the presence of moisture and heat, so a lot that measured 99.6 per cent on the day it was tested is not making a claim about what it measures a year later in a warm cupboard.
Purity bands: what 95, 98 and 99 per cent mean
There is no regulator setting grades for research-grade peptides, so the bands below are conventions rather than standards. They are useful anyway, because the market has converged on them and because the difference between them is a real difference in what is left in the vial.
The arithmetic is worth saying out loud: a 98 per cent result means two per cent of the detected material was something else. On a 10mg vial that is 200 micrograms of related substances, and the certificate rarely says what they were. Whether that matters depends entirely on the work. For a binding assay with a wide window it is irrelevant, and for anything quantitative it is not.
| HPLC area percent | What it usually indicates | Commonly used for | What to ask for next |
|---|---|---|---|
| 99% and above | A well-optimised synthesis and a careful purification | Quantitative work, reference comparisons, published method development | The chromatogram itself, and the mass-spectrometry result alongside it |
| 98 to 99% | The common listing threshold across the category | Most routine research applications | Net peptide content, and the identity of the named related substances |
| 95 to 98% | Acceptable for many applications, but the remainder is a real fraction | Screening and qualitative work | An impurity profile, because five per cent of unknown is a lot of unknown |
| Below 95% | Generally treated as unsuitable for research use | Rarely listed | The method line and the laboratory name, before anything else |
Purity is not content: a worked example from released lots
The two numbers are routinely confused, and the fastest way to separate them is to read a real certificate. Peptide purity testing reports both, and they are not the same quantity. HPLC purity is a ratio between peaks the detector saw. Net peptide content is a mass: how many milligrams of peptide the vial actually holds.
Take lot 2FRBRG of BPC-157. Freedom Diagnostics reported it on 29 May 2026 at 99.51 per cent by RP-HPLC, identity confirmed by LC-MS, with net peptide content of 10.68mg in a 10mg vial, under accession 2605270306. Both figures are on the same page of the same document, and neither one could be worked out from the other.
Those two numbers move independently. Lot PQ7MWD of TB-500 reported the same day at 99.58 per cent, a shade purer, with 12.16mg of peptide in a 10mg vial. A higher purity percentage with a higher content figure is an overfill, not a contradiction; purity describes the material, content describes the fill.
Blends are where the distinction stops being academic. A multi-component product cannot honestly carry one purity figure and one content figure, because there are several analytes in the cake. The certificate for GLOW lot GLOW-062026-4 reports content per component, GHK-Cu 59.92mg, Thymosin β4 11.71mg and BPC-157 10.86mg, and a listing that flattens that into a single number has thrown away the only part a reader needs.
- 0%
- HPLC area percent for BPC-157 lot 2FRBRG
- Freedom Diagnostics, reported 29 May 2026, accession 2605270306
- 0mg
- Net peptide content measured in that 10mg vial
- Same certificate, same page
- 0
- Certificates published across eleven compounds
- Serviam Bio Labs certificate library, September 2026

| Lot | Compound | HPLC purity | Net peptide content | Reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2FRBRG | BPC-157 | 99.51% | 10.68mg in a 10mg vial | Freedom Diagnostics, 29 May 2026 |
| PQ7MWD | TB-500 | 99.58% | 12.16mg in a 10mg vial | Freedom Diagnostics, 29 May 2026 |
| GHK100-052026-4 | GHK-Cu | 99.86% | 94.85mg in a 100mg vial | Freedom Diagnostics, 14 May 2026 |
| MOT10-052026-4 | MOTS-C | 99.76% | 12.07mg in a 10mg vial | Freedom Diagnostics, 14 May 2026 |
| GLOW-062026-4 | GLOW | 99.68% | GHK-Cu 59.92mg · Thymosin β4 11.71mg · BPC-157 10.86mg | Freedom Diagnostics, 7 Jun 2026 |
| XX1EZC | KLOW | 99.76% | GHK-Cu 58.65mg · KPV 8.80mg · TB-500 10.16mg · BPC-157 9.42mg | Freedom Diagnostics, 29 May 2026 |
Every figure in that table is a document, not a claim
The certificates quoted above are published in full: chromatogram, mass-spectrometry result, laboratory name, accession number and lot, including for lots that are no longer in stock.
Open the certificate libraryTests that appear on some certificates and not others
Endotoxin testing, usually by LAL assay and specified in the United States Pharmacopeia as chapter <85>, measures bacterial endotoxin in endotoxin units. It is a microbiological measurement rather than a chemical one, and it is commissioned where a downstream application is sensitive to it: cell culture work, for example, where endotoxin confounds results at very low concentrations. Where a certificate reports it, the useful detail is the limit tested against and whether both replicates passed.
Two neighbouring chapters turn up on fuller panels. USP <61> is bioburden: a plate count of viable organisms recovered from the sample, reported in colony-forming units. USP <71> is sterility, a fourteen-day incubation in two growth media reported as growth or no growth. Both describe what was recovered from the material tested. Neither is a purity measurement, and neither is run on routine research-grade lots.
Counter-ion content quantifies trifluoroacetate or acetate directly rather than leaving it implied, by ion chromatography or fluorine NMR. Residual solvent testing by headspace gas chromatography looks for what is left from synthesis and purification. Elemental impurity screening by ICP-MS reports metals in parts per million or billion. All three are characterisation tests, more common on a first production lot than on a routine release.
Appearance and solubility are recorded observationally: colour and form of the cake, and whether it goes cleanly into the stated solvent. Trivial to perform, and genuinely useful, because an off-colour cake or a solution that will not clear is a signal ahead of any instrument.
Independent laboratories that run peptide purity testing
This is the part of the subject most articles leave abstract, and it does not need to be. A working set of contract laboratories that run peptide purity testing publish their prices and their turnaround openly, and the table below is what those pages said when they were read on 19 September 2026. The laboratories are described by type rather than named, because a rate card can be rewritten overnight and a company name welded to a stale figure is worse than no name at all. The shape of the market is the durable part: the tiers, the spread between them, and what each one buys.
Two structural points before the table. First, price scales with scope rather than with quality: a $195 identity-and-purity result from a competent laboratory is the same measurement as the same test inside a $750 panel. Second, a laboratory that publishes its certificates in a searchable public archive has done something the others have not. It has made its own work checkable by people who are not its customers.
Serviam's own lots run through two laboratories, both named on the certificates themselves. Forty-nine of the fifty-one archived certificates were issued by Freedom Diagnostics, and 48 of the 51 carry an accession number and the laboratory's own search code. The remaining two, both GLP-3 RT, came from pH Solutions, which is ISO/IEC 17025 accredited and uses a different report format entirely: fill-weight conformance vial by vial, plus microbials, mycotoxins, residual solvents and elemental impurities that the Freedom certificates do not cover.
The spread in that table is a spread of scope rather than of rigour. The same RP-HPLC injection sits inside the cheapest tier and the dearest one; what the extra spend buys is more tests beside it and a longer calendar to run them in. Read that way, the question worth asking of a seller is never which laboratory is cheapest, but which panel a given lot needed and whether the report for it was published against the lot number.
- $195
- Lowest published per-sample price for identity plus purity at an independent laboratory
- Lowest entry in the table above, read 19 September 2026
- $1,500
- Top of the widest published per-sample range, for the broadest scope
- Same reading, 19 September 2026; scope rather than quality sets the price
- 0
- Of Serviam's 51 archived certificates issued by Freedom Diagnostics
- The other two are pH Solutions, ISO/IEC 17025 accredited
| Laboratory | Published price per sample | Stated turnaround | Where the figure comes from |
|---|---|---|---|
| Freedom Diagnostics, which reports our own lots | Not published as a list price | 1 to 3 business days | Its own site; quoted on submission rather than listed |
| A mid-tier independent laboratory with a public rate card | $200 HPLC panel; $600 full QC panel | About one week; three business days for a $150 rush fee | Its own published pricing page |
| An independent laboratory selling tiered panels | $195 identity and purity; $295 with content; $750 extended panel | 5 to 7 business days rising to about 15 | Its own published tier pricing |
| An independent laboratory running an open testing programme | $250 standard; from $39 build-your-own; free for individuals | About two weeks; from one week | Its own site |
| A laboratory quoted for multi-analyte GLP work | About $828 for a multi-analyte GLP panel | Not stated in the source | A published third-party laboratory directory |
| A full-service contract laboratory priced by scope | $150 to $1,500 depending on scope | Not stated in the source | A published third-party laboratory directory |
| A per-sample analytical laboratory on a flat rate | $200 per sample | Not stated in the source | A published third-party laboratory directory |
| A contract laboratory priced per test rather than per panel | $100 to $500 per test | Not stated in the source | A published third-party laboratory directory |
| Large global contract research organisations | Quoted per project | Per quotation | Contract-laboratory service listings |
What peptide purity testing costs, tier by tier
Published entry prices at independent United States laboratories sit between $195 and $250 for identity plus purity on a single sample. Adding a content measurement takes it to roughly $295. A full quality-control panel, meaning chromatography, identity, content, endotoxin, elemental impurities and microbials, runs $600 to $750. Above that the published figures thin out and widen: one laboratory lists a $1,195 tier that adds sterility with its fourteen-day incubation, and the broadest published per-sample range runs from $150 to $1,500 depending on how much scope is bought. The top of that range, not the $1,195 tier, is the highest single-sample figure on any page read.
Volume moves those figures. One laboratory publishes discounts of five per cent at fifteen to twenty-nine samples, ten per cent at thirty to forty-nine and twenty per cent above fifty, which is the economics that makes per-lot release testing realistic for a seller rather than aspirational. Method development, where no method exists for a compound, is charged separately and is the item most likely to surprise someone testing something unusual.
Set against those numbers, a missing certificate is not a cost problem. Routine release testing against an established method is a two-figure to low-three-figure charge spread across a whole lot of vials, so a seller who does not publish one has made a decision about disclosure rather than run into a budget.
| Spend per sample | What it typically includes | What it establishes | What it still does not tell you |
|---|---|---|---|
| About $39 to $50 | A single add-on test, or a conformity sample against an existing method | One narrow question | Nothing about identity or the impurity profile unless that was the test |
| About $195 to $250 | RP-HPLC purity with identity confirmation | That the material is the named molecule, and how much of the detected signal was it | How many milligrams of peptide the vial holds |
| About $295 | The above, plus content against label claim | Purity, identity and fill | Water, counter-ion, metals and microbials |
| About $600 to $750 | Full QC: purity, identity, content, endotoxin, elemental impurities, microbials | A rounded chemical and microbiological picture of the lot | Anything about lots other than the one submitted |
| About $1,195 to $1,500 | The most extensive published scopes: sterility with its 14-day incubation at $1,195, and the top of the widest published range at $1,500 | Everything above, with the longest calendar | Still only the vials submitted, on the date they were tested |
Sending a sample for peptide purity testing yourself
Contract analytical laboratories accept samples from businesses and from individuals, and the process is more prosaic than people expect. What varies is the sample requirement, and it is larger than most guides suggest.
One laboratory's published requirement is a 10mg minimum per sample and three vials, rising to four vials where the fill is under 10mg, with lyophilised powder preferred and reconstituted solution accepted. The reason for multiple vials is that several of the tests are destructive and some are run in replicate. Sending a single vial usually means the panel has to be cut down.
On the submission form, the compound name and the sequence are the two fields that matter, because the sequence is what a theoretical mass is calculated from. Without it the laboratory can weigh your molecule but cannot tell you whether the weight is right. Turnaround is quoted from receipt, not from posting: the day the parcel lands is Day 0, and published standard turnarounds run from one to three business days at the fastest to two weeks at the slowest.
Results come back as a PDF, increasingly through a portal with a lookup code on the certificate. Free programmes exist, and at least one laboratory tests free of charge for individuals, but the trade is confidentiality: the result is published in a public dataset with the vendor named. That is a good bargain if the point of the exercise is to inform the market, and a poor one if you were hoping to keep a disappointing figure to yourself.
ISO/IEC 17025, and what accreditation does and does not cover
ISO/IEC 17025 is the international standard for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories. An accredited laboratory has demonstrated to an accreditation body that it runs particular methods correctly: that its instruments are calibrated and traceable, that its staff are qualified for the work, that its results are reproducible, and that it participates in proficiency testing against other laboratories.
The word doing the work in that paragraph is particular. Accreditation is granted against a scope, which is a published document listing the specific methods and matrices the laboratory is accredited for. A laboratory accredited for elemental analysis by ICP-MS is not thereby accredited for peptide chromatography. Asking whether a laboratory is accredited is the easy half of the question; asking whether the test on your certificate falls inside its accredited scope is the half that matters.
Two things accreditation is not. It is not GMP, which governs manufacturing rather than testing, and it is not a guarantee about any individual result. It is a statement about the system that produced it. Nor is it universal in this category: plenty of competent peptide purity testing is done by laboratories that are not accredited, and the honest position is that accreditation raises the floor rather than certifying the ceiling.
Two of Serviam's fifty-one archived certificates come from an ISO/IEC 17025 accredited laboratory, pH Solutions, and their format shows the difference: fill-weight conformance reported vial by vial across the whole run, alongside microbials, mycotoxins, residual solvents and elemental impurities. Purity on those reports is stated as conformance to a 99 per cent specification rather than to two decimal places, which is the document being quoted accurately rather than a weaker lot.
One vial is not a lot, and a certificate has a date
Testing is per lot, not per vial. A lot is one synthesis and one fill, so every vial from it shares the same measurement, and the lot number on the label is what ties a particular vial to a particular report. What does not carry across is one lot's result to the next. Synthesis is a per-batch process and failures are per-batch events, so a new lot needs a new test and no amount of testing on the previous one substitutes.
Even within a lot, a certificate describes the vials that were opened. Fill variation is real, which is why the accredited-format certificates report conformance across every vial in the run rather than a single figure, and why a content result of 10.68mg in a 10mg vial is a measurement of that vial rather than a promise about all of them.
The date on the certificate is the other half of this. Purity is measured on a day, and the material carries on ageing afterwards. Lyophilised powder held at −20°C or colder is stable for a long time; the same powder at room temperature is not. Once material is in solution the clock speeds up sharply. We do not publish a shelf-life figure for reconstituted peptide, because we have not measured one: the 28 days often quoted is USP General Chapter <797>'s limit on a punctured multiple-dose container of preserved diluent, which governs the water rather than the peptide dissolved in it. Repeated freeze-thaw cycles accelerate degradation independently of temperature. None of that is visible on a document signed six months ago.
The practical rule is to read the report date rather than the release date, and to treat a certificate whose date never moves while new stock keeps shipping as the clearest signal on the page. How to store peptides between the laboratory and the bench is as much a part of the purity question as the synthesis was.
Making a result checkable by someone who is not you
A test that only the seller can see is not evidence. The whole value of third-party peptide purity testing rests on someone outside the transaction being able to confirm the document is real, and there are only a few mechanisms that actually do that.
The strongest is an accession number: the laboratory's own internal identifier for the sample, printed on the certificate and searchable in the laboratory's records. Forty-eight of the 51 certificates in our archive carry one. Lot 2FRBRG is accession 2605270306, searchable as Auth2605270306, which means the document can be checked at the laboratory rather than only against the seller's own website. QR codes on certificates do the same job with less typing, and public certificate databases and vendor leaderboards do it at the level of the whole market.
The weakest mechanism, and the commonest, is a PDF hosted by the seller with no identifier on it that points anywhere. It may be perfectly genuine. It is simply not checkable, and a document nobody can check is doing the work of a logo.
What that means in practice is a short list of questions for any certificate: does the lot number match the vial in front of you, is the laboratory named, is there an identifier that resolves at the laboratory, and is the chromatogram a real trace with labelled axes and retention times rather than a picture of a peak. Reading a peptide certificate of analysis line by line takes about a minute, and checking a lot number against the published archive takes less.
Peptide purity testing is a panel, not a number: chromatography for purity, mass spectrometry for identity, and, where the work warrants it, amino acid analysis, water content, counter-ion, metals and endotoxin. The published market prices that panel between about $195 and $750, which is cheap enough per lot that a missing certificate is a decision rather than a budget. Read the method line, read the report date, and check that the number resolves to a laboratory and a lot, because a missing certificate says considerably more about a research peptide supplier than a slightly lower purity figure ever will.
Common questions
How do you test a peptide for purity?
Peptide purity testing starts with reverse-phase HPLC, which separates the sample and reports the target as a percentage of total detected peak area. It is paired with mass spectrometry, which confirms the main component is the intended molecule by measuring its mass against the value calculated from the sequence.
What is a good purity level for peptides?
By convention, 98 per cent by HPLC area percent is the common listing threshold, 95 per cent the floor below which material is generally treated as unsuitable, and 99 per cent and above what quantitative work asks for. There is no regulator setting these grades for research-grade material, so the band matters less than whether the certificate names the method and the laboratory.
How much does peptide purity testing cost?
Published list prices at independent United States laboratories start at about $195 to $250 per sample for RP-HPLC purity with identity confirmation, rise to roughly $295 with a content measurement, and reach $600 to $750 for a full quality-control panel. Above that, one published tier is $1,195 with a fourteen-day sterility incubation added, and the widest published per-sample range tops out at $1,500 for the broadest scope. Figures read 19 September 2026.
Where can I get my peptides tested?
Contract analytical laboratories accept samples for peptide purity testing from businesses and from individuals, and several publish their prices openly rather than quoting on request. The useful distinction is by type rather than by name: independent analytical laboratories running a per-sample rate card from about $195 to $250, laboratories selling tiered panels that reach $750 and beyond, open testing programmes that charge little or nothing in exchange for publishing the result with the vendor named, and large contract research organisations that quote per project. Compare on accredited scope, on stated turnaround, and on whether the report carries an accession number that resolves at the laboratory, rather than on price alone.
Can I send a peptide to a lab myself to have it tested?
Yes. One laboratory's published requirement is a 10mg minimum and three vials per sample, or four where the fill is under 10mg, with lyophilised powder preferred. Send the compound name and the sequence on the form, because the theoretical mass is calculated from the sequence. Budget about $195 to $250 for purity with identity, plus a method-development charge if no method exists for that compound.
Which purity tests should be run on every batch?
HPLC purity and an identity determination on every lot without exception, by mass spectrometry or, where the laboratory works that way, by retention-time match against a certified reference standard. Net peptide content and water content are reasonable on a first lot and periodically after that, because they are properties of the process more than of the individual run. Endotoxin and elemental impurities belong where the application specifies them.
Is in-house peptide testing as good as third-party testing?
In-house peptide purity testing is a real measurement, but it is the seller testing their own product, and nothing outside the company stands behind the number. A report from an independent laboratory names that laboratory, the method and the date, and usually carries an accession number that resolves at source. Our published certificates carry all four against the lot number printed on the vial.
Is free peptide testing worth it?
At least one laboratory tests free of charge for individuals, and the measurement is the same measurement. The trade is confidentiality: results from those programmes are published in a public dataset with the vendor named. That is a good bargain if the aim is to inform the market and a poor one if a disappointing figure was meant to stay private.
What is ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation?
The international standard for the competence of testing laboratories. An accredited laboratory has shown an accreditation body that its instruments are calibrated and traceable, its staff qualified, its results reproducible, and that it takes part in proficiency testing. Accreditation is granted against a published scope of specific methods, so the question worth asking is whether the test on your certificate sits inside that scope.
Can I test peptide purity at home?
No. HPLC and mass spectrometry need a column, a calibrated detector and a known reference, and there is no strip or kit that stands in for them. What can be done without equipment is checking the documents against the vial: match the lot number, look for labelled axes and retention times on the chromatogram, and compare the cake and its solubility against what the certificate records.
How long does peptide purity testing take?
The instrument time is trivial, because an HPLC run takes minutes. What sets the calendar is the queue and the reporting. Published standard turnarounds run from one to three business days at the fastest to about two weeks; the longest tier, which includes a fourteen-day sterility incubation, is quoted at around fifteen business days. Turnaround is counted from receipt, not from posting.
What is the difference between HPLC and mass spectrometry on a certificate?
HPLC answers how much: it separates the sample and reports the target as a percentage of total detected peak area. Mass spectrometry answers what: it measures the molecular mass of the main component and compares it with the theoretical mass for the sequence. A certificate needs both, because a clean sample of the wrong molecule passes the first test and fails the second.
Why do two labs report different purity percentages for the same peptide?
Because area percent depends on the method. A different column, gradient or detection wavelength separates the impurities differently, and anything that co-elutes with the main peak is counted inside it. Where the operator sets the baseline moves the figure too. A spread of one to three per cent between laboratories running different methods on identical material has been reported and is not by itself a red flag; several per cent more than that means the two methods are not comparable.
What does a +16 Da peak on a mass spectrum mean?
Oxidation, almost always at methionine, tryptophan or cysteine. It matters because the oxidised species frequently elutes close enough to the parent that the UV chromatogram counts it inside the main peak, so a high HPLC purity figure with no mass-spectrometry data has not excluded it.
Is peptide purity testing regulated or standardised?
Not for research-grade material. The methods themselves are standard analytical chemistry and pharmacopoeial procedures exist for finished drug products, but a research chemical carries whatever specification the seller chooses to set and test against. That is why the useful questions are which laboratory ran the panel and whether the report is published per lot, rather than whether a seller describes the material as tested.
Is purity testing the same as sterility testing?
No, and the two are easily confused. Purity testing describes chemical composition: how much of the sample is the target molecule and what the remainder consists of. Sterility under USP <71> is a fourteen-day incubation reported as growth or no growth, bioburden under USP <61> is a plate count, and endotoxin under USP <85> measures bacterial endotoxin. Lyophilised research material is supplied non-sterile unless a certificate states otherwise.
How can you tell if a certificate of analysis is fake?
Look at the parts that are hard to fabricate consistently: a lot number matching the vial, a named laboratory with a date, an accession number that resolves at that laboratory, and a chromatogram with labelled axes, a scale and retention times rather than a picture of a peak. One certificate reused across several products, or a date that never moves while new lots ship, is the commonest tell.
Does every vial need its own test, or just the batch?
Testing is per lot, not per vial. A lot is one synthesis and one fill, so every vial from it shares the same measurement, and the lot number on the label ties a particular vial to a particular report. What does not carry across is one lot's result to the next, so a new lot needs a new test.
What destroys peptides?
Moisture, heat, oxygen and time, mostly in combination. Water drives hydrolysis of the backbone, which is why residual moisture in the cake is measured and why lyophilised material is held at −20°C or colder. Oxygen oxidises methionine, tryptophan and cysteine side chains. Repeated freeze-thaw cycles accelerate degradation independently of temperature, and dilute solutions can lose material to adsorption on glass.
What is the most trustworthy peptide company?
Not a question anyone can answer for you, and any seller answering it about themselves should be discounted. It is answerable by method rather than by name: does every lot have a certificate, is it from a named independent laboratory, does it carry an identifier that resolves at that laboratory, and does the lot number on the document match the vial. Working through those checks on a research peptide supplier is more useful than any ranking.
- ICH Q6A, Specifications: Test Procedures and Acceptance Criteria (FDA): the idea of a release panel as a set of tests with stated procedures and acceptance criteria, rather than a single headline number
- ICH Q2(R2), Validation of Analytical Procedures (FDA): why a result is only meaningful alongside the analytical procedure that produced it, which is the point of the method line on a certificate
- FDA, Lyophilization of Parenteral: Inspection Technical Guide: residual moisture in a freeze-dried cake as a routine test point, and fill variation across a run
- PubChem CID 9941957, BPC-157: the published formula and molecular mass that a mass-spectrometry identity result for BPC-157 is compared against
Read more
- How to read a peptide certificate of analysisA peptide certificate of analysis is the only document that connects the vial in your hand to a measurement. Most buyers glance at one number on it and miss the three that matter.
- Peptide purity, and what the percentage measuresPeptide purity is quoted as a single number on every listing in this category. That number is measuring something quite specific, and it is not what most buyers assume.
- Bacteriostatic water for peptidesBacteriostatic water for peptides is the default diluent for a straightforward reason: it is the only one that lets a multi-milligram vial be used more than once.
- Bacteriostatic water storage and shelf lifeBacteriostatic water storage is simpler than most people expect, and the 28-day figure everyone quotes is measuring something quite specific.
- Sterile water vs bacteriostatic waterSterile water vs bacteriostatic water is a question about one ingredient and one consequence: whether the vial can be opened more than once. The labels answer it in figures.
- What is bacteriostatic water?What is bacteriostatic water, exactly? It is one ingredient away from ordinary sterile water, and that one ingredient is the entire reason it exists.
For laboratory research use only. All compounds listed on this site are sold strictly as reference materials for in-vitro laboratory research conducted by qualified professionals. They are not drugs, foods, cosmetics, or medical devices. They are not intended for human or veterinary consumption, therapeutic use, diagnostic application, or any in-vivo use whatsoever. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. By purchasing, you affirm that you are a qualified researcher and that you will comply with all applicable institutional, local, state and federal regulations governing the handling of research chemicals. Published by SERVIAM BIO LABS.






